Nature Writing & other news

I’m reading World Without Us, b/c it was on sale at Powell’s and recommended by Alan. I marvel at the incredible research that Alan Weisman (not the same Alan) must have put into that book. I keep looking at the bios of authors who write these incredibly detailed, science-oriented books and they’re NOT SCIENTISTS. They’re journalists. Hrmmph. Wow. Something about that makes me feel jealous, but I can’t put my finger on it.
Anyway, the book is pretty good…Weisman talks primarily about what would happen if humans just left the earth. The most compelling parts of it are his descriptions of seams busting, streets caving in, explosions, floods, fires, and the eventual swaddling of our world in ice, forest, and vines.
Next up is Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. I haven’t read it since high school but I loved it back then. Any good suggestions for nature writing or natural history? I am on a kick.
On another note, Bitch Magazine started a YA blog. This is the perfect venue for my book, should it ever become a real book. The first interview is with Sara Zarr. See, I told you she was cool.


5 thoughts on “Nature Writing & other news

  1. I’ll bet that you still haven’t read Richard White’s The Organic Machine, have you? Read it. You will love it. It’s a beautifully written account of the Columbia River’s social and environmental history.

  2. Scientists and Journalists are basically the same thing, just applying the same skills to different things. Here’s an even weirder one: Writers are Scientists AND Journalists, who use the same skills to report on something much more personal.

  3. hmmm I have a bio from the diss for ya! ha, though related to myth. one of my favorites is Crossing the Circle at the Holy Wells of Ireland, by Walter and Mary Brenneman. Mary Oliver poems. 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

