Curiouser and Curiouser

When you revisit things from your past, does it ever frighten you how much of yourself comes from a particular book or movie? In the past year I re-watched Wayne’s World. When it came out I saw it at least 400 times. Um, some of the things I say every single day and that I still think are funny are from Wayne’s World.
Not only that, but I’m rereading Alice in Wonderland. Every other line is something that I think or say, every day. It’s like…an etymology of my sense of humor! Wayne’s World and Alice in Wonderland? Cultural Literacy, Look No Further!

Also…I have two new ideas…of books I’d like read (and should therefore write). Should I not post the ideas? Oh phooey. One is about what it’s really like to be a fundamentalist christian teenager. All the sexuality implied and bad stuff and good stuff and summer camp, etc. Another is what it’s really like to be an artist or artisan right now…not a famous one…not a glamorous portrayal…something that draws on watching my parents & their friends (& me & my friends of course) be regular ol’ artists & artisans.
Eh? Eh? What do you think?


2 thoughts on “Curiouser and Curiouser

  1. I really like the idea of the fundamentalist Christian teenager. First, it’s something that will instantly connect with a Christian and non-Christian reader alike (the former will relate, the latter will be curious). Second: the live of an artist, portrayed via art, gets instantaneously meta in a way that can be a big turn off to some.

    Not me, of course, but then I’m only interested in meta.

    1. Yeah, I see what you mean. There would have to be some other HUGE plot point to sort of de-meta that. So it wouldn’t be ABOUT that, ya dig? I’m thinking of doing something rather seamy with the Christian thing, so it might piss off the real Christians.

Leave a Reply

